SPI Safety Statistics and Awards Program

SPI EHS+ invites you to participate in the 2014 Safety Statistics and Awards Program (SSA). The Safety Statistics and Awards Program is a way to gather more information on safety in the industry and to recognize facilities that have achieved a level of safety performance above the industry average. Awards are based on data reported on a company's annual OSHA 300 Log of Work-Related Injuries and Illnesses.

The program will be launching January 5, 2015 and ending March 6, 2015, so save the date!


"The award serves as a proud visual recognition for our employees of our facilities accomplishments in safety."

- B.C. Kennedy
  EHS Coordinator, Berry Plastics Corporation


"We highly value these awards. This is a means of recognition in our industry where we are measured against similar operations."

- Matthew Caruso
  Techmer PM


What’s required to submit:

  • Completed submission form
  • Copy of the facility’s OSHA 300 and 300A forms

Get a head start, view and start filling out the 2014 SSA Submission form. We will start accepting submissions forms January 6, 2015. The form asks you to provide 2014 occupational illness and injury data of your facility. Please submit a separate form for each site you wish to be considered for an award. All data will be handled confidentially. Company names will be disclosed only as Safety Award recipients.

Award Categories

  • Gold Distinguished Safety Awards recognize worksites with no occupational injuries or illnesses, as defined by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), during the calendar year 2014.
  • Silver Achievement Safety Awards are presented to worksites with no OSHA recordable occupational injuries or illnesses involving lost workdays or restricted work activity during the calendar year 2014.
  • Bronze Special Recognition Awards are presented to those worksites with safety performance for 2014 that is 20 percent better than the national Total Recordable Cases (TRC) average for their North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code.

This year we will also be recognizing facilities with the two lowest rate of incident based on size (1-100 employees, 101-350 employees, over 350 employees)


SPI Congratulates the 2013 Safety Award Recipients!

Please contact SPI staff if you have any questions and we hope your facility will participate this year!

Recycle Plastics 365 - Pursuing Zero Waste

Page Tools