For more information, contact:

Katie Hanczaryk
Associate Director, Industry Affairs

The Plastics Industry Association (PLASTICS) and the companies it represents pride themselves on prioritizing the safety and wellbeing of the men and women who work in their facilities. 

The Safety Statistics and Awards (SSA) Program is a way for the plastics industry to recognize facilities for their safety records. Awards are given to facilities with safety records at three different levels (Gold, Silver and Bronze) for their exceptional, successful efforts to keep workers safe. In addition to awarding companies with notable safety records, PLASTICS also recognizes the facilities with the two lowest rates of incident based on three different size categories (1-100 employees, 101-350 employees, over 350 employees).

For Companies to Participate:

Submissions for the 2016 SSA Cycle Year will be accepted starting January 6, 2017. Submit your application by July 1, 2017. To compete, companies should submit:

Companies can submit a separate form for each site they wish to be considered for an award. All data will be handled confidentially and company names will be disclosed only as award recipients.

Award Categories:

Gold Distinguished Safety Awards recognize worksites with no occupational injuries or illnesses, as defined by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), during the calendar year 2016.

Silver Achievement Safety Awards are presented to worksites with no OSHA recordable occupational injuries or illnesses involving lost workdays or restricted work activity during the calendar year 2016.

Bronze Special Recognition Awards are presented to those worksites with safety performance for 2016 that is 20 percent better than the national Total Recordable Cases (TRC) average for their North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code.

You may also be interested in: