Tue November 14, 2017

Continuing the trend of maintaining vacated seats this year, Republican John Curtis beat Democrat Kathie Allen with over 57 percent of the vote to replace Representative Jason Chaffetz who resigned from Utah’s Third Congressional District seat earlier this year. Curtis is the mayor of Provo, Utah’s third largest city. No Republican seat has changed hands in any special election since the 2016 election.

2018 may be a different story with many incumbents deciding not to seek reelection. As of now, a total of 33 current members of Congress will not be running for reelection. Thirty-one members of the House and two members of the Senate have made their intentions known so far. Ten are Democrats, and 22 are Republicans. Several are seeking higher offices at the state or federal levels; however, many are leaving politics altogether.

The two senators not seeking reelection are Republican Senators Bob Corker (TN) and Jeff Flake (AZ), both of whom have had very public disagreements with President Trump. One notable House member leaving Congress early is Representative Pat Tiberi (R-OH-12), a member of the powerful Ways and Means Committee, who announced he would be resigning his office as of January 2018 to lead the Ohio Business Roundtable. Tiberi joins fellow Ways and Means Committee members Representatives Sam Johnson (R-TX-2), Dave Reichert (R-WA-8) and Lynn Jenkins (R-KS-2), who had announced their retirements, and Representatives Diane Black (R-TN-6), Jim Renacci (R-OH-16) and Kristi Noem (R-SD-AL) who are running for governor of their respective states.