For more information, contact:

The Plastics Industry Association (PLASTICS) and the companies it represents pride themselves on prioritizing the safety and wellbeing of the men and women who work in their facilities. 

The Safety Statistics and Awards (SSA) Program is a way for the plastics industry to recognize worksites, safety professionals and safety cultures. Awards are given to facilities with safety records at three different levels (Gold, Silver and Bronze) for their exceptional, successful efforts to keep workers safe. In addition to awarding companies with notable safety records, PLASTICS also recognizes the facilities with the two lowest rates of incident based on three different size categories (1-100 employees, 101-350 employees, over 350 employees).

Additionally, the SSA program is launching new safety award categories to recognize the individuals, the facilities and the companies that are leaders of safety in the plastics industry, helping shape safety cultures within their facilities and companies.

Award Categories:

Gold Distinguished Safety Awards recognize worksites with no occupational injuries or illnesses, as defined by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), during the calendar year 2018.

Silver Achievement Safety Awards are presented to worksites with no OSHA recordable occupational injuries or illnesses involving lost workdays or restricted work activity during the calendar year 2018.

Bronze Special Recognition Awards are presented to those worksites with safety performance for 2018 that is 20 percent better than the national Total Recordable Cases (TRC) average for their North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code.

New Awards

Rising Safety Professional
Individual (self or internal/external peer-nominated)
Recognize safety professionals with 5 or less years of experience with exemplary safety leadership. This award can be self-nominated, or a peer/supervisor can nominate their colleague or industry peer.

Safety Professional of the Year
Individual (self or internal/external peer-nominated)
Applicants for this award should demonstrate exemplary safety leadership and management skills, and helped promote safety culture with in their facility(ies) and company.

PLASTICS’ Leaders of Safety Awards
Facility based award - Single-site only -will recognize an award winner in each industry segment (Material Supplier, Processor, Equipment Manufacturer and Brand Owner)
This award recognizes a plastics facility that is proactively working to improve facility safety with a focus on risk reduction. The facility and submission should demonstrate the management and employees’ commitment to these efforts with examples of safety training and innovative safety programs and practices.

PLASTICS’ Safety Company of the Year  
Corporate, Multi-site or Single-site
This award recognizes a plastics industry company with outstanding safety and a culture that revolves around a safe work environment. Eligible organizations should serve as examples to other plastics industry manufacturers. A core criterion for this award is a detailed account of a safety program that has been implemented and helps establish a safe work environment. The program should serve as an example of how the organization’s culture is committed to continuous improvement of safety.

For Companies to Participate:

Submissions for the 2018 SSA Cycle Year will be accepted starting January 4, 2019. Submit your application by April 1, 2019. To compete, companies should submit:
  • A completed submission form via fillable PDF and any additional requested information.
  • For Gold, Silver and Bronze Awards
    • There is the option to submit via spreadsheet submission form. If you opt to use the spreadsheet submission form you can submit all facility entries on one spreadsheet, but we will still need copies of each of the worksite’s OSHA 300 and 300A forms.
    • A copy of the facility’s OSHA 300 and 300A forms preferably shared in spreadsheet format (a template can be downloaded here).  (just for Gold, Silver and Bronze awards)

Companies can submit a separate form for each site they wish to be considered for an award. If you opt to use the spreadsheet submission form you can submit all entries on one spreadsheet, but we will still need copies of each of the worksite’s OSHA 300 and 300A forms. All data will be handled confidentially and company names will be disclosed only as participants.

The awards now are plastic plaques that can be hung or displayed on a table or desk.

  • SSA 2017 Cycle Participants
    • ACS Group
    • Americas Styrenics LLC*
    • BASF Corporation*
    • Bay Plastics Machinery Company LLC
    • Berry Global Inc.*
    • Braskem America*
    • CPM Century Extrusion
    • Dart Container Corporation*
    • Element Materials Technology
    • ESI - Extrusion Services, Inc.
    • Formed Plastics, Inc.
    • Graham Packaging Company*
    • Lectro Engineering Co
    • Lyondellbasell*
    • Mexichem Specialty Resins, Inc.*
    • Micro Mold, Co.
    • Milacron
    • NOVOLEX*
    • Placon Corporation
    • Plastikos Inc.
    • Pres-Tek Plastics, Inc.
    • Prestige Mold, Inc.
    • Printpack Inc*
    • Qualice, LLC
    • Ravago*
    • Sekisui Plastics USA*
    • Silgan White Cap*
    • Teknor Apex*
    • Thermal Care Inc.
    • Westlake Chemical

    *multiple worksite submissions

You may also be interested in: